June 11, 2019, is a vital reform program in the State of Michigan. Known as the Michigan Auto Insurance Reform, the June 11, 2019 reform program brought about the fundamental, sweeping, and unprecedented changes to the No-Fault Law in Michigan.
There are many important changes to the law. Here at Haque Legal, we want to make sure that you always have the right information in your hands to help you make the right decisions. With that, let us look at the 06/11/2019 Reform and how it affected the auto insurance industry.
To see how they may affect you, contact our Southfield car accident lawyers to learn more.
The Important Changes to No-Fault
There are significant changes to Michigan’s No-Fault law that dates back years. It affects every driver and every car accident and car collision victim in the State of Michigan. The changes include the following:
Choice of Personal Injury Protection
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is one of the most controlling factors of insurance. All drivers must carry “unlimited” No-Fault medical coverage.
The unlimited No-fault medical coverage gets taken to protect all of the parties involved in the collision in Michigan.
With the 06/11/2019 Reform, the drivers in Michigan can choose one from among the four No-Fault PIP medical benefits coverage, such as:
- $50,000 for drivers enrolled in Medicaid;
- $500,000; and
- unlimited or no limit.
Drivers in Michigan who have Medicare can now all of them out of the no-fault medical benefits altogether. This means that they can turn to Medicare for the medical coverage of injuries that they will suffer from in the case of a car accident.
If you have been in an accident, we know how hard it must be. You would need to have a family provide attendant care. The attendant care is only up to 56 hours per week. This limitation only applies to those that are in-house and family-provided but not those that come from a commercial agency or in a residential facility.
Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association
Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association (MCCA) is the association that pays for the medical costs. The specific market is for those who are catastrophically injured from car accidents.
Policies renewed by July 1, 2020, the changes on the MCCA now include the fact that the MCCA will only pay for the car accident victim’s claim if the No-Fault PIP is selected at an unlimited or no limit level.
If you have suffered a catastrophic injury at the hands of another driver, please reach out to our Southfield personal injury attorneys today!
Suing the Driver At-Fault
The victims of car accidents who would have medical expenses that exceed the medical benefits coverage of their auto insurance policy will now be able to sue the driver at fault through a third-party lawsuit for any present or future excess medical bills.
The mini-tort law that increased from $1,000 to $3,000 for car accidents and car collisions in Michigan that occur after July 1, 2020.
Can I not get an insurance policy?
Drivers who drive without insurance are not just violating the law but are also putting themselves in unnecessary danger of losing their hard-earned money, spending more than what they can afford, and getting in debt right after the accident.
What Kind of Claim Can I File?
With the new reform, there are still three kinds of claims that you can file in case of a car collision in Michigan.
Mini Tort Claim for Vehicle Damage
Vehicle damage is normal in case of an accident. In this case, the State of Michigan has a mini tort claim can recover up to $1,000 in damages from the diver at fault.
Are you involved in a car crash?
We hope you are doing better now.
We understand that there might be a disagreement that would arise between you and the auto insurance company over the no-fault benefits. In this case, you can file a “first-party” claim.
What is a first-party claim? A first-party claim is filed against the intruder for any kind of unpaid or overdue no-fault benefits. It is filed within the 1-year time limit from the time of the car crash or collision. This would include the claims that you have for your medical care, auto care, replacement services, attendant care, and even the lost wages.
There is also the concept of a third-party claim for pain and suffering which covers the non-economic damages that you may file for more than the economic damages.
What do I do in case of a crash?
Filing for your insurance claims should be the first thing that comes into mind after a collision in Michigan. We have already written a lot of articles about how you can file for your insurance and how you can protect your rights after the incident of a collision.
In case of a car crash in Michigan, the most important thing that you should do is to contact your lawyer after contacting 911 and getting medical attention.
Here at Haque Legal, we have our team standing by to help you out with the documentation of everything that you need. What is the evidence that you need to preserve? What are the things that you should do to start your insurance claim? We know how hard it is to start over and we are here to help.
Let Haque Legal Help You With Your Collision Problem
Now that you know some facts about your rights in case of a car crash in Michigan it is time to get down to it. If you require a lawyer who can assist you with ensuring that you protect your rights to your property, it is important to know that you also have a team that can help you out with your specific needs.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice. This is not a legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship gets created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out.
If you are having trouble with filing an insurance claim, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or are seeking justice and truth, our people are standing by to take your call.
The post The June 11 2019 Reform in Michigan appeared first on Haque Legal.