Every state has its Distracted Driving Laws. Michigan enforces civil infractions to punish and deter distracted driving. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and Virginia Tech Transportation Institute conducted studies of how inattention is the leading factor that causes many crashes further causing injury or death. If you are a victim of one of these accidents, be sure to reach out to our Southfield personal injury attorneys or wrongful death lawyers today.
In Michigan, any person who fails to follow the distracted driving laws will pay a fine and have the infraction on their permanent driving record. The fines can range from $100 to $240 depending on the operator’s license and prior infractions.
Defining Distracted Driving
By definition, distracted driving is an activity done by the driver that takes his focus off the task of driving. In the State of Michigan, distracted driving has three different types of distractions.
There is Manual Distracted Driving when there is anything that causes the driver from taking his hands off the wheel. For example, when the driver is reaching for an object in the car, when he is smoking, or when he is eating.
Visual Distracted Driving is when there is anything that causes the driver from taking his eyes off the road. This would include looking at the GPS too much, looking at the kids, checking his hair in the rearview mirror.
Cognitive Distracted Driving is anything that causes the driver’s mind off the task of driving. This would include acts like. Cognitive distractions include having conversations with a passenger, thinking of something else like daydreaming, text messaging, loud music, and reading. Cognitive distracted driving is harder to prove than any other kind of distracted driving in Michigan.
As of July 1, 2010, Michigan state law prohibits texting while driving with a $100 for the first offense. A subsequent offense is $200.
Specific Michigan Distracted Driving Laws
Michigan has very specific distracted driving laws. Right now, Michigan currently prohibits the following activities when one is driving:
- Text messaging while the driver is behind the wheel;
- Drivers with a learner’s permit are prohibited from using cell phones while driving; and
- Drivers of commercial motor vehicles are not allowed to use handheld cell phones.
Are There Exceptions To Michigan’s Distracted Driving Laws?
There are a couple of exceptions to Michigan’s Distracted driving laws such as the following:
- Reporting a traffic accident, medical emergency, or road hazard;
- Calling 9-1-1;
- Calling where there is a perpetuation of a criminal act; and
- When one is carrying out his official duties as a police officer.
Follow Michigan Laws
Violations of Michigan’s Distracted Driving laws form part of your permanent driving record. This may affect your insurance premiums, your infraction points, and even put you in jail if you are going to have a lot of violations in your record.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out.
If you are a victim of a distracted driving automobile crash, call one of our Southfield car accident lawyers immediately. We represent hundreds of clients from accidents caused by distracted drivers. Call us today for a free consultation.
The post Distracted Driving Laws in Michigan appeared first on Haque Legal.