Insurance claims in Michigan have strict time limitations. Unfortunately, too many claimants sit on their rights and lose their right to redeem their insurance claims. So, if you have an automobile insurance claim and want to know the ins and outs, here’s a guide on how to collect your benefits.
What is Michigan’s Automobile Insurance?
According to the Michigan Government, there are three things that the no-fault insurance covers in case of collision:
- Medical expenses, payment of lost wages, and replacement services;
- Payment for property damage, other than a car; and
- Payment for personal injury, or pain and suffering damages.
Filing A Claim
If you are having trouble filing insurance claims, it is important to know that you also have a team that can help you out with your specific needs. A collision is a very serious matter that must be addressed as soon as possible. Our Southfield car accident attorneys are firm are dedicated to making sure that those who are innocent will be protected by the law and the full extent of justice will be used. We have filed thousands of automobile insurance claims and won millions of dollars for clients’ injuries, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
Mini Tort Claim for Vehicle Damage
Michigan’s mini tort law has a three-year time limit. People whose vehicles have been physically damaged in a motor vehicle accident can recover up to $1,000 in damages. When the damage is between $1,000 to $3,000, it is under mini-tort recovery.
Can I claim bodily injury?
No, you cannot claim a mini-tort for bodily injury. Michigan tort law only covers vehicle damage and no bodily injuries. This would fall under Michigan’s No-Fault insurance policy.
Michigan’s No-Fault Insurance is mandatory for all vehicle owners in Michigan. If you are injured in a car accident or you suffer from a bodily injury, there is no need to sue the driver for the medical bills or lost wages. Instead, call our Southfield personal injury lawyers to help you along in the process?
This requirement is to make sure that victims who are seriously injured are paid properly and with fewer delays.
Who will pay for the vehicle damage?
The person who caused the accident would be responsible for the damage up to $3000.
What if the $3,000 is not enough to cover vehicle damage?
If the claim does not pay all of the car damage, there is no way that you can file a claim under a mini-tort. This is because mini-tort law is for a limited purpose. The at-fault driver must cover the full repair costs.
Collision Coverage in Michigan
Collision coverage in Michigan has two types – there is the standard coverage and there is the broad collision. The standard coverage or the basic collision coverage is basic. The car owner will have to pay for the collision deductible whether he caused the accident or not.
How Do I File A Claim?
There are different steps necessary when filing a claim. Here are the suggested steps.
Get All Necessary Information
The first thing that you need to do is to get all of the necessary information related to the accident. Obtain the necessary information from the driver or drivers in the accident. There is a lot of different information that you will need to obtain from the driver and they are the following:
Information Related To Involved Driver
- Their name and address;
- Name and address of the owner of the vehicle;
- The registration number of the vehicle; and
- Their driver’s license to you.
Information Related To His Insurance
- Name of their auto insurance company;
- Name of the auto insurance company covering the vehicle;
- Policy number for the vehicle involved in the accident; and
- Name of the at-fault driver’s insurance agent (including phone number).
Get A Police Report
Another thing that you need to get would be a police report. Whether you want to or not you need to call the police and make sure that you get a report about the traffic crash and all of the information necessary with it.
While you are still at the scene of the accident make sure that you take as many photographs as possible and from many different angles. It would certainly help if you would also be able to get a video of the crash or a dashcam video if you have one or if the person who is at fault has one.
Get An Estimate
Once you leave the police station and the scene of the collision you need to make sure that you get an estimate of what it will cost to repair the damage on your car.
Michigan’s automobile insurance law is mandatory for vehicle owners. You should consider adding coverages that protect all of your insurance rights.
Get and keep a copy of the Declarations Page from your auto insurance policy
The declaration page coming from your auto insurance policy is important. You should obtain a copy of it and keep it as well.
Notify the Driver At Fault
Make sure that you notify the at-fault driver as well as his auto insurance company of your claim. Follow the steps above so you can properly protect yourself in case of a collision in Michigan.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let Us Help You Out?
After a car crash, call our Southfield car accident injury attorneys immediately. We have helped thousands of auto accident victims claim millions of insurance benefits with the proper handling of automobile insurance claims from start to end.
The post Insurance Claims: How to Collect Your Benefits appeared first on Haque Legal.