Skip to Content

Michigan Moped Laws


Operating a moped comes with various responsibilities. It is crucial for those who own and operate mopeds in Michigan to understand the laws related to the operation of these vehicles. Failure to understand these laws could result in accidents and traffic citation penalties. Speak to an accident lawyer in Southfield to learn more.

Obtaining a Moped License

In order to obtain a moped license in Michigan, individuals must meet certain requirements. First, the potential moped operator must be 15 years of age, have no other type of license, and obtain a parent or guardian’s approval if they are a minor.

To obtain the license, the individual will need to visit a Secretary of State office in their area. Need to bring documentation with them that proves they are who they say they are. They need to prove they have a Social Security number, prove their citizenship or legal residence, prove their identity, and prove their residency in Michigan.

Individuals are required to pass both a vision test and a moped knowledge test, and they will be required to pay a moped license fee. If a minor is working to obtain the moped license, they will have to have a parent or guardian sign the license application. 

For individuals who already have some type of license in the state of Michigan, they will not need to obtain a separate moped license. If individuals have a GDL Level 1 license, then they will have to have a moped privilege added. If individuals have a GDL Level 2 or Level 3 license, they may operate a moped without any type of additional endorsement.

Important Moped Rules to Know

The only individuals required to wear a helmet when operating a moped are those under the age of 19. Even though individuals 19 years of age and older are not required to wear a helmet when operating a moped, helmet use is strongly encouraged. Additionally, eye protection is not mandated but is strongly encouraged.

In Michigan, individuals are allowed to ride a moped on the roadway, but they cannot operate in the full lane of traffic. Moped operators must stay to the right side of the lane and ride with traffic. It is not legal to operate a moped on a bicycle path or a sidewalk made for pedestrians. Learn more from one of our injury lawyers in Southfield.

Required Equipment

In order for a moped to be legal in Michigan, it must have one headlamp mounted between 24 inches and 54 inches above the ground, and this headlight needs to be able to illuminate individuals and vehicles at least 100 feet forward. The moped must have a rear lamp that emits a red light that can be seen from 500 feet behind the vehicle. There must also be a brake light that emits either a red or amber light when the brakes are applied that can be seen from 100 feet from behind the vehicle. 

A moped must have a separate light that illuminates the registration decal and makes it legible from at least 50 feet behind the vehicle. 

Mopeds must have at least two brakes – one on the front wheel and one on the back wheel. These brakes can be operated by hand or foot. Mopeds must have a horn that can be heard under normal conditions at a distance of 200 feet or more.

The post Michigan Moped Laws appeared first on Haque Legal.

Share To:


Contact Our Legal Team Today
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy