When it comes to properly protecting yourself, one of the important things that you need to take note of is the fact that different laws are always there to try and protect you from any problem that may arise in your everyday life.
Michigan has a very strict law in terms of what people should expect from it and how they can properly protect themselves in case of an accident. In this article, let us talk about the Michigan motorcycle laws in Michigan and the things that you should know about them.
The Most Basic Information
The most basic information that you should know about the motorcycle laws in the state of Michigan is the fact that motorcycle riders must be licensed. They must carry a motorcyclist endorsement on their driver’s license before they ride and they must always wear crash helmets.
These are very specific requirements that are set by the state of Michigan to protect individuals who want to ride motorcycles from accidents and from anything that could happen.
Here you will realize that there are two things that you need:
You need a valid driver’s license.
You need a valid driver’s license. The driver’s license is the most important part of your steps towards being able to drive a motorcycle in the state of Michigan. Without a valid driver’s license, you will not get the second requirement which is an endorsement.
You need an endorsement
You need an endorsement for you to qualify for driving a motorcycle license. The rule provides that applicants for a motorcyclist endorsement must “first qualify for an operator’s license . . . before the endorsement . . . application is accepted and processed.” (MCL 257.310(1))
There is a very specific requirement that you must comply with to get to drive a motorcycle in the State of Michigan – you must be allowed to drive a car before you can drive a motorcycle.
While no rule discusses the age requirement that you have to comply with, you can be less than the age of 18 when you drive a motorcycle if you pass a safety course before you can get an endorsement on your operator’s driver’s license.
You must pass an examination that would test your written knowledge test, roadside test, and your driving skills test.
Hence, you can be less than the age of 18 but you must comply with the specific requirements. A 16-year-old or a 17-year-old may be able to obtain a temporary instruction permit that could help him be on the way towards getting a driver’s license.
While you may not have to comply with the age requirements, you have to comply with the size requirements. In the State of Michigan, even if you already have a driver’s license that allows you to drive a motor vehicle, you need to pass other requirements that would allow you to drive a motorcycle.
In the State of Michigan, a person can ride as a passenger so long as “his or her feet can rest on the assigned foot rests or pegs” unless the passenger is unable to do so “due to a permanent physical disability.” (MCL 257.658a(1))
Does this mean that even young people can be a passenger if they cannot be a rider?
Unfortunately, the State of Michigan is very strict in this regard. While there is no age requirement, there is a size requirement that requires that a passenger shall not ride on one “unless his or her feet can rest on the assigned foot rests or pegs,” except if “a permanent physical disability” prevents the passenger from doing so. (MCL 257.658a(1))
What are the helmet requirements in the State of Michigan?
Wearing a helmet is necessarily required in the State of Michigan. According to the law, motorcyclists who are 21 or older can ride without a crash helmet if certain licensing, training, and insurance requirements are met. (MCL 257.658(5))
Were you in a motorcycle accident?
Now that you know some facts about getting a license in the State of Michigan, it is time to get down to it. If you require a lawyer who can assist you with ensuring that you protect your rights to your property, it is important to know that you also have a team that can help you out with your specific needs.
Our Southfield motorcycle accident attorneys are dedicated to making sure that those who are innocent will be protected by the law and the full extent of justice will be used.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out.
If you need a lawyer to help you during your motorcycle accident proceedings, call us immediately. Let us help you set things right.
The post The Basics of Michigan Motorcycle Laws appeared first on Haque Legal.