Skip to Content

Michigan Weapons Law: Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Eligibility in Michigan


For a long time, there have already been a lot of individuals who own guns in the State of Michigan. It is important for individuals who want to have a license or who want to be able to carry their pistol. 

Here at Haque Legal, we have had a lot of inquiries about individuals wanting to have their license and want to carry their license. With that, let us look at some of the basic information that you should know about the Michigan Weapons Law.

Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Eligibility in Michigan

The first question that people have is where or not they are eligible to carry a pistol in Michigan. However, it is important to first define what it means to be licensed for carrying a concealed pistol.

It simply means that at any given time you cannot be just waving around your pistol because you are licensed to carry it. The purpose of your pistol is for emergency purposes only and should not be used merely to threaten others. 

The reason why you are going to get a license is not so you can wave around the pistol but so that you can provide yourself protection when the need arises. In case you are pulled over at a traffic stop and the police officers notice that you have a pistol, you will ask for the license.

To be clear, it is important to know that it is a felony in the state of Michigan to carry a concealed pistol on your person or even on your motor vehicle without any license or eligibility to carry one.

Who is entitled to a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) in Michigan?

For you to get the Concealed Pistol License (CPL) eligibility in Michigan, you should keep in mind that you have the following qualifications:

You must be at least 21 years of age.

This is considered as the legal age requirement for you to be ready and able to obtain a concealed pistol license. If you will have a concealed pistol license you must maintain that you are indeed 21 years of age at the time that you got the pistol.

You must be a citizen of the United States.

You must be a citizen of the United States for you to be given a license to carry. 

If you are not a citizen of the United States, you must be an alien lawfully admitted into the United States.

If you are not a citizen of the United States at the time of application for the pistol license, you must be an alien who has been lawfully admitted to the United States. 

Hence two kinds of citizenship can apply for the license. The first one includes the fact that you are a citizen of the United States. The second one includes the fact that you are an alien who has been lawfully admitted into the United States at the time of the application for the license.

What if I was an illegal alien but am now a citizen of the United States?

As long as you have the qualifications and none of the disqualifications you should be easily able to get the license.

You must be a legal resident of Michigan and reside in Michigan for at least six months immediately before application.  

You cannot be a resident of another state and then push yourself to have a license in the state of Michigan because that is just an impossibility.

Let us discuss the residency requirements.

When are you considered a resident of the State of Michigan?

You are considered as a resident of the state of Michigan if you possess a valid Michigan driver’s license or any personal identification card that is lawfully issued in the State of Michigan as well as the fact that you are lawfully registered to vote in the State of Michigan.

Can the residency requirement be waived?

The county clerk can waive the residency requirement in the following circumstance:

  • If it is an emergency license;
  • If the applicant is a petitioner for a personal protection order; and
  • If the county sheriff determines that there is clear and convincing evidence that your safety or the safety of a member of your family is endangered because of the lack of a license to carry a concealed pistol.

What if I am not a resident of Michigan but I want to get a license to carry there?

The residency of the applicant is the minimum requirement set by law. Citizens of other states cannot just go to the state of Michigan for them to apply for the license to carry, especially if the eligibility between the states are different. You will only be putting yourself in trouble and a lot of expenses if you try to get a license in the state of Michigan while not complying with the residency requirements.

This is the first part of our article series on the concealed pistol license in the state of Michigan. We will be discussing the other eligibility as well as the other facts that you need to know about getting this specific license. 

We Are Your Legal Team

For any other problem, Haque Legal can help. A lawyer at Haque Legal will see to it that your needs are met from beginning to the end of the proceedings. You are always in good hands with Haque Legal.


The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.

Let us help you out

If you are having trouble with getting your license, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or are seeking justice and truth, our numbers are standing by to take your call. If you have a problem with your eligibility, we are here to help.

Share To:


Contact Our Legal Team Today
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy