Skip to Content

Michigan Point System in Traffic Violations


If you have been reading your insurance contract or just became curious about traffic violations, you have probably read about the Michigan Point System in traffic violations.

What is Michigan’s Point System?

Michigan’s Point System simply means that points are entered into your record after you receive a conviction on a violation. Every point that you accumulate would have an effect on your record and may lead to suspension or revocation of your license.

How long do the points last?

The points will last on your record for up to two years from the time of entry.

Violations and Point Values

The following are some of the violations and point values:

Six Points 

  • Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving the use of a motor vehicle;
  • Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs;
  • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash;
  • Reckless driving;
  • The unlawful bodily alcohol content of .08 or more while driving;
  • Refusal to take a chemical test;
  • Fleeing or eluding a police officer.

Four Points

  • Drag Racing;
  • Impaired driving;
  • Underage 21 with any bodily alcohol content;
  • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.

Three Points

  • Careless driving;
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing;
  • 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.

Two Points

  • 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit;
  • Open alcohol container in vehicle;
  • All other moving violations of traffic laws;
  • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.

What happens when I accumulate points?

When you accumulate points, your insurance premiums are affected. When you have accumulated 4 points within 2 years, you will receive a letter from the Secretary of State that you are already halfway through the required number of points on your driving record.

Once you have received 8 points, you will be mailed another letter letting you know that you are already on the brink of getting your license suspended. 

When you receive 12 points, you will be ordered to take a driver reexamination which should show the review of your driving record, and tests your eyesight and your medical condition. You will also be tested on your knowledge of traffic safety.

There is a lot more about the accumulation of points in Michigan, you can read more on the next set of articles on this article series.

Were you pulled over in Michigan?

Now that you know some facts about getting traffic violations in the State of Michigan, it is time to get down to it. If you require a lawyer who can assist you with ensuring that you protect your rights to your property, it is important to know that you also have a team that can help you out with your specific needs. 

Our law firm is dedicated to making sure that those who are innocent will be protected by the law and that the full extent of justice will be used.


The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.

Let us help you out

If you need a Southfield traffic violation lawyer to help you during your traffic ticket proceedings, call us immediately. Let us help you set things right.

The post Michigan Point System in Traffic Violations appeared first on Haque Legal.

Share To:


Contact Our Legal Team Today
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy