Once you already have your license to carry a concealed pistol you are still required to follow the specific rules. Let us discuss those rules.
Is the right to carry the pistol absolute?
We need to first settle the fact that the right to carry a pistol is not absolute even if you already have the license to do so in the State of Michigan. Even with a license, it is illegal for a person even one who has the license to carry a pistol at the specific places where it is considered as a pistol free zone
What are the places with an absolute ban for carrying pistols?
Even with a license to carry a pistol, you are not allowed to do so in the following areas:
- Daycare center, child-caring agency, or public or private child-placing agency – Any place where there are children involved or children often frequent it is not allowed if you carry a pistol.
- Sports arena or stadium – In a sports stadium or arena especially in the one where there is a sporting event you may not be allowed to carry your pistol even if you already have a license to carry one.
- A tavern where the primary source of income is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass consumed on the premises – Whenever there are alcoholic beverages involved and individuals and their inhibitions are restricted it is not allowed to be carrying a weapon and especially a pistol.
- Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or another place of worship, unless the presiding official allows concealed weapons – A property or a facility that is related to church worship or religious worship is also protected and included in the pistol free zone.
- An entertainment facility that has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more – Entertainment facilities such as concert falls as well as when stadiums are used for concerts
- Hospital – hospitals are strictly no pistol zones that license holders must abide by.
- Dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university – the dormitory or any community that is dedicated to learning is also considered as a no pistol zone and one must abide by it at all times.
- Casinos – casinos are also very strict when it comes to their security and the law supports that pistols are also not allowed in casinos.
- Weapons are also not allowed in places of court hearings, unless allowed by the judge for the security of the court.
- School property except while dropping off or picking up a student.
What happens when I am caught carrying in any of the areas listed above?
If you are caught carrying a pistol in any of the areas that we have listed above you have to face the following penalties:
For the first infraction, you will be charged with an offense: State Civil Infraction, a $500 fine, and your CPL permit suspended for 6 months.
For the second offense, you will get a 90-day misdemeanor, a $1000 fine, and your CPL permit revoked.
For the third and subsequent offenses, the penalty is a 4-year felony, $5000 fine, and your CPL permit revoked.
How do I declare my license when I am confronted by the police?
When you are confronted by the police you need to declare your concealed pistol license. According to Michigan, an individual’s license to carry a concealed weapon or a pistol in this case and has been issued a driver’s license must always carry the two together when they are driving. At any given point the individual who is carrying a concealed disco shall immediately show the pieces of identification as well as the license to carry that show both be inspected by the police officer.
When the license is being asked it helps if you also already show that you have a license to carry a pistol. This immediate disclosure is important because you will always be asked for identification when you are pulled over at a traffic stop.
The failure to immediately disclose that you are carrying a firearm is considered a civil infraction and you will be considered guilty of an offense with the following penalties:
- For a first offense, you will pay a fine of $500.00, and your license to carry a concealed pistol is suspended for 6 months.
- For a subsequent offense within 3 years of a prior offense, by a fine of $1,000.00 and by the individual’s license to carry a concealed pistol being revoked.
We Are Your Legal Team
For any other problem, Haque Legal can help. A lawyer at Haque Legal will see to it that your needs are met from beginning to the end of the proceedings. You are always in good hands with Haque Legal.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out
If you are having trouble with getting your license, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or are seeking justice and truth, our numbers are standing by to take your call. If you have a problem with your eligibility, we are here to help.
The post Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Eligibility in Michigan and The Rights In Pistol Free Zones appeared first on Haque Legal.