We have discussed in a previous article that you can deactivate your airbags when you have a medical condition. We have also discussed about seatbelts and what you need to know about seatbelt safety.
With that, this article is a recap article that aims to provide information on how you can deactivate airbags for drivers with medical conditions:
Turning Your Airbags On and Off
There are four circumstances when you can turn airbags on and off, are the following:
- A rear-facing infant restraint must be placed in the front seat of a vehicle because there is no rear seat or the rear seat is too small for the child restraint. (For the passenger air bag only.)
- A child under 13 years of age must ride in the front seat because the child has a condition that requires frequent medical monitoring in the front seat. (For the passenger air bag only.)
- An individual with a medical condition is safer if the frontal airbag is turned off. A written statement from a physician must accompany each request based on a medical condition unless the request is based on a medical condition for which the National Conference on Medical Indications for Air Bag Deactivation recommends deactivation. (For driver and/or passenger frontal airbags as appropriate.)
- A driver must sit within a few inches of the air bag, typically because she or he is of extremely small stature (i.e., 4 feet 6 inches or less). (For the driver frontal airbag only.)
This information is lifted from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
In the state of Michigan, drivers and front-seat passengers are required to buckle their seatbelts. Individuals in the back seat are not required to wear their seatbelts unless they are aged 8 to 15. Individuals in this age range must wear their seatbelts regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle.
When wearing a seat belt:
- The lap belt and shoulder belt should be secured across the hips and shoulder.
- The shoulder belt should be placed across the middle of the chest and away from the neck.
- The lap belt should rest across the hips and not the stomach.
- The shoulder belt should never be put behind a person or under their arm.
Individuals who do not wear seatbelts in Michigan could face a fine of $65.
There are also requirements regarding child passenger safety in Michigan.
- If a child is younger than four years of age, they have to ride in a car seat in the rear seat (if the vehicle has a rear seating area). If every available row seat is occupied by a child under the age of four, then an additional child under the age of four is allowed to ride in the front seat, but must also be in a car seat. Children in a rear-facing car seat can only ride in the front seat if the airbag is turned off.
- Children must be buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they reach eight years of age or 4 feet 9 inches tall, whichever comes first. A child must remain in a car seat or booster seat until they reach the proper age or height requirement.
If you have any questions about whether or not your car seat is appropriate for your child or if you have installed the seat correctly, take a ride to your local fire department and ask them. Most local departments have car seat technicians on location who can help you install the seat properly.
Adults and older children should always wear seatbelts, no matter where they are positioned in the vehicle. A failure to do so could result in individuals sustaining severe injuries, even in relatively minor vehicle accidents. For severe accidents, seat belts will most certainly prevent serious injuries or fatality, in which you may find yourself needing the help of a car accident lawyer in Southfield.
Why You Need A Southfield Traffic Ticket Attorney
You do not need to navigate this process on your own, especially when you’re trying to recover from a personal injury or other consequences of an auto accident.
When a car accident lawyer from our law firm is involved in your insurance claim, the chances of receiving a higher settlement amount increase. You don’t need to spend your hard-earned money on medical bills that aren’t your fault!
Contact Our Law Firm’s Southfield Traffic Ticket Lawyers For Your Case
Our motor vehicle accident team will advocate on your behalf during this difficult period of your life. Let our Southfield, Michigan car accident attorneys handle all of the legal hurdles following this unfortunate incident and you will be liberated to focus on your work and your family.
Our law firm aims to maximize our accident victims’ financial compensation after your car accident and possible personal injuries. Reach out to us today at (248) 988-9625 to schedule a free consultation or let us answer questions you may have. You will not pay a penny for our legal services unless we win your case in the form of a settlement or a court award.
The post Deactivating Airbags and Seatbelt Facts in Michigan appeared first on Haque Legal.