Like any other state in the US, Michigan has its fair share of property crimes. These crimes include burglary, larceny, theft of motor vehicles, and arson. The Michigan State Police report that property crimes accounted for 74% of all crimes reported in 2020. This article will delve deeper into the different types of property crimes in Michigan and how they are prosecuted.
Burglary is the unlawful entry of a building or structure to commit a crime inside. In Michigan, burglary is considered a felony offense and is punishable by up to 20 years in prison. The severity of the punishment depends on the degree of the burglary.
First-degree burglary involves breaking a dwelling intending to commit a crime, carrying a maximum penalty of life imprisonment. Second-degree burglary involves breaking into a building other than a dwelling, carrying a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison.
Robbery is the theft of property without the use of force or violence. In Michigan, larceny is divided into two categories: petit larceny and grand larceny. Petit larceny involves the theft of property valued at less than $1,000, and it is considered a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Grand larceny, on the other hand, involves the theft of property valued at more than $1,000 and is considered a felony offense. The severity of the punishment depends on the value of the stolen property. For example, theft of property valued between $1,000 and $20,000 is punishable by up to five years in prison, while theft of property valued at more than $100,000 is punishable by up to 20 years.
Motor Vehicle Theft
Motor vehicle theft involves the theft or attempted theft of a motor vehicle. In Michigan, motor vehicle theft is considered a felony offense and is punishable by up to five years in prison. However, if the value of the stolen vehicle is more than $20,000, the offender could face up to 10 years in prison. In addition to imprisonment, the offender could also be ordered to pay restitution to the victim.
Arson is the intentional setting of a fire to a building or other property. In Michigan, arson is considered a felony offense and is punishable by up to 20 years in prison. The severity of the punishment depends on the degree of the arson. First-degree arson involves setting fire to a dwelling, carrying a maximum penalty of life imprisonment. Second-degree arson consists of setting fire to a building other than a dwelling, which takes a maximum sentence of 20 years.
Get Yourself a Good Lawyer
Here at Haque Legal, we always tell potential clients that the best thing they can do in case of a case filed against them is to get themselves a good lawyer at the beginning of the proceedings. Even when you are just filling up forms or think that you already have a dispute, you can always get yourself a good lawyer to start the process.
The first great thing that you can do is to make sure that you have a good guide when it comes to dealing with legalities. After all, you are fighting for your freedom and your life.
Contact Your Lawyer
You must contact your law firm if you have been involved in a criminal complaint in Michigan. A lawyer can help you get started with adequately protecting your rights. A lawyer at Haque Legal will ensure that your needs are met from the beginning to the end of the proceedings. You are always in good hands with Haque Legal and what it offers.
The article you read is based on general applications of the law, and it is not legal advice and should not be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out.
If you are having trouble with the law about a possible charge of a sex crime or you want a lawyer to help you with the representation, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or seek justice and truth, our numbers are standing by to take your call.