Skip to Content

Michigan Commercial Driver's Licenses

Acquiring a CDL opens doors of opportunity in Michigan. In this guide, we'll explore different types of CDLs available here and how they are received.

Class A CDL

In Michigan, Michigan's Class A Commercial Driver License (CDL) provides commercial drivers access to vehicles exceeding 26,001 pounds gross vehicle weight rating with tow weight exceeding 10,000 pounds towed vehicle. With such a license comes opportunities in long-haul trucking, heavy equipment transport, and beyond.

Class B CDL

This license type is suitable for drivers operating vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more - such as delivery trucks, buses, or dump trucks - in which case it enables the transport of goods, passengers, and various specialized driving tasks.

Class C CDL

Michigan offers the Class C CDL license to vehicles not within Class A or B categories. Still, it requires one for operation, including hazardous material carriers, school buses, and passenger vehicles with 16 passengers or more seating capacities.


Michigan CDL holders looking to add specific vehicles or cargo can further diversify their CDL by obtaining endorsements that show they possess specific competencies for specific tasks or cars.

Common endorsements include:

  • Hazmat (H) permits are necessary when transporting hazardous material, and passenger (P) permits are mandatory when operating vehicles carrying passengers, such as buses.
  • Tanker (N): Enables you to transport liquid or gaseous materials in bulk quantities.
  • Doubles/Triples (T): Allows multiple trailers to be pulled simultaneously
  • School Bus (S): Mandatory for school bus drivers.

The Application Process

Gaining a CDL license in Michigan involves several steps.

Begin Your Learner Permit Application Now

  1. Initially, apply for and pass a Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) by taking and passing an appropriate knowledge test about the class and endorsements you seek.

  2. Skills Training: Receive skills training from an approved CDL school or certified trainer to prepare for and pass the CDL skills test.

  3. Skills Test (Pre-trip Inspection, Basic Control Skills Test & On-Road Driving Exam)

  4. Medical Certification: Once you've fulfilled all medical requirements for commercial drivers and obtained your medical certificate, obtain your CDL license.

  5. Age Requirements: In Michigan, to receive an intrastate CDL driving authorization, Michigan is at least 18 years old, while interstate CDLs require at least 21 years old as per federal requirements.

Michigan offers you all you need for a rewarding and stimulating transportation career with its Commercial Driver's License system, whether your dream is long-haul trucking, bus driving, or hazardous materials transport.

Whatever you pursue - long haul trucking, bus driving, or transportation of dangerous materials - Michigan has various CDL options that fit the bill perfectly to meet any ambition. Just follow all necessary steps, obtain relevant endorsements, and drive safely to achieve success and begin your adventure today.



Contact Our Legal Team Today
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy