Motorcycles are fantastic ways to get out on the roadways. Not only are they wonderful with gas mileage, but they allow you to truly experience the scenery around you. However, do motorcyclists in Michigan need a motorcycle license in order to remain legal on the roadway?
Here, we want to discuss the specifics of a motorcycle endorsement in the state of Michigan. It is crucial to understand the laws in this state regarding motorcycles if you want to remain safe and legal on the roadway.
What is a Michigan Motorcycle Endorsement?
Individuals must have a motorcycle endorsement on their regular driver’s license in order to legally operate a motorcycle in the state of Michigan. When we look at the Michigan Department of Transportation requirements, we can see that individuals can add their motorcycle endorsement through an online process. In order to do so, an individual must:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Hold a valid Michigan driver’s license
- Have already passed an approved motorcycle rider education course or passed the rider skill test offered by an approved driver testing business
If an individual falls into these categories, they can go to the online link, create a login to an account, and follow the prompt to complete their transaction. To successfully add a motorcycle endorsement to their license, individuals have to pay a motorcycle endorsement fee of $16.
What Are The Training Courses Needed?
The state of Michigan offers two options for individuals wanting to obtain a motorcycle endorsement.
- A person can complete a Michigan Rider Education Program (MI-REP) course
- A person can obtain a motorcycle Temporary Instruction Permit (CY TIP) through the Secretary of State’s office, practice their riding with an experienced motorcyclist for six months, and then pass a rider skills test offered by an approved driver testing business.
In order to obtain a temporary motorcycle instruction permit, an individual must be at least 16 years old. Individuals 16 or 17 must show proof of enrollment in a motorcycle rider safety training course and have a parent’s signature on their application. Individuals must also hold a valid Michigan driver’s license, pass a vision test and a motorcycle written knowledge test, and pay a temporary license fee. Individuals with a temporary license cannot write at night or carry any passengers, and they must be under constant visual supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least 18 years of age.
Michigan law specifies that a person cannot be issued more than two temporary motorcycle permits within a 10-year period.
If You Drop Your Motorcycle Endorsement, Can You Get it Back?
If you have previously held a motorcycle endorsement in the state of Michigan within the last four years and proof of the endorsement can be established, you can have the endorsement reissued and not have to take the knowledge or skills test again. In the event you dropped your motorcycle endorsement more than four years ago, you will have to pass a motorcycle rider safety course again or pass the knowledge test, obtain a temporary permit, and pass the rider skills test.
If you ever find yourself in a motorcycle accident and in need of legal assistance, please reach out to our Southfield motorcycle accident lawyers today.
The post Do You Need a Motorcycle License in Michigan? appeared first on Haque Legal.