Accidents happen every day. Nobody can predict when an accident may happen. However, even if you cannot predict when the accident may happen, you may at least prepare for it.
In the article series What Are The Many Penalties To Expect For The Uninsured in Michigan?, we have discussed the more important aspects of driving without insurance coverage in the State of Michigan.
To reiterate, in the United States, accidents are the third leading cause of death. For people between the age of 25 to 44, it is often the cause of death. Of course, this is why it makes sense to have a comprehensive insurance policy that could cover your needs, or your family’s needs when an accident happens.
Here at Haque Legal, it is our goal to make sure that you have the protection you need in times of trouble. We want to answer all of your questions and therefore we have created this article series that would discuss everything you need to know about car insurance coverage in the state of Michigan.
In this part, we continue and discuss the other side of the coin: What if you are the uninsured driver?
What if you are an uninsured driver?
There are some instances where you might be the person who is guilty of the misgiving. What if you are an uninsured driver? What if you are the driver who does not have insurance to cover the expenses incurred? Let us look at the things that you can do and the penalties that you would have to face.
There are a lot of penalties for driving without insurance in Michigan. This would include the following:
- A Fine – You will be charged a fine for the violation you committed. The fine is between $200 to $500 and it could go higher depending on the circumstances of the case.
- Jail Time – There is serious jail time that is involved in driving when you are uninsured. A minimum period of one year jail time is the penalty that you should expect to pay.
- Suspension of Your Driver’s License – your driver’s license will be suspended as well based on the application of the law.
- Barred from suing an at-fault driver for pain and suffering – In some instances for most of it, you will be barred from suing the at-fault driver for the pain and suffering that you experienced. In the instance that you are also a victim of the crash and who also suffered damages and injury the court will not look at it as if you are innocent, you will have to pay for the damages and the injury yourself.
- Disqualification from all No-Fault Insurance Benefits – You may also suffer disqualification from the benefits that are from the no-fault law in Michigan.
- Personal Liability for an At-fault Driver’s No-Fault Benefits – Personal liability is also incurred by the individual who does not have insurance.
- Other compensation and damages – The person involved will also be held liable for other compensation and damages involved in the case.
There are different civil and criminal liabilities that you should expect when you drive in Michigan without insurance.
You will be held guilty of a misdemeanor. This will go on your permanent record and could affect your right to get jobs later on. The court will hold you for a felony if it is not the first time you drove without a Michigan.
You will also pay a fine between $200 to $500 and be sent to jail for not more than a year. The worst penalties are the ones where you will find that your driver’s license will be suspended. If the court determines that you were driving without auto insurance that is required you will have your driver’s license suspended by the secretary of state until you get the necessary car insurance but this may not be the only limitation that will be set for you by the court,
The court may also require other kinds of acts for you to regain your driving privileges in the State of Michigan. We have an article series that looks at the complicated way that you can get your driving privileges back and you can find them here.
Are there any other penalties that I should expect to come from the acts or my failure to have insurance and continue driving in the State of Michigan? What are the other things that you should expect? The next article will discuss the other details about how driving without insurance will affect your privileges in the State of Michigan.
Contact Your Insurance Company
If you have been involved in a car collision in Michigan, make sure that you are protected. By contacting your insurance company, you will have what you need in terms of their decision and see if they just need a little nudge in the right direction.
If the answer of the insurance company is not positive on your claim, then you need to make sure that you will get going with your complaint.
A lawyer can help you get started with your claim. A lawyer at Haque Legal will see to it that your needs are met from beginning to the end of the proceedings. You are always in good hands with Haque Legal and what it has to offer.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out
If you are having trouble with filing an insurance claim or have been in an auto accident in Michigan, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or are seeking justice and truth, our numbers are standing by to take your call.
The post What if you are an uninsured driver in Michigan? appeared first on Haque Legal.