There are many penalties involved when you are facing distracted driving charges that caused a car accident. The following are some of the penalties related to this:
- A texting driver who causes the death of another person can be held guilty of a misdemeanor and could be sent to jail.
- A texting driver who causes a collision with another vehicle can get points off of his driver’s license.
- When the driver is proven to be texting in an accident where there is a serious impairment of a bodily function to another person, the driver is guilty of a misdemeanor and could be facing some serious jail time of up to 93 days and could pay a fine of $500.
These penalties are imposed for any person who is found guilty of distracted driving. Keep in mind that when you are caught by a traffic enforcer, you have the burden to prove that you are not guilty of the offense and may be under the exempted circumstances.
Will my insurance pay for the damages even if I am at fault in the accident?
In some instances, you already know that you are guilty of the offense being charged. As such, you might wonder if your insurance company would pay for the damages that you have caused even if you are the one at fault. In the State of Michigan, the answer is yes. The insurance will pay for the damages even if you are the one at fault and even if you are indeed guilty of distracted driving.
Under the no-fault law in Michigan, auto accidents are covered by their insurance policies and there is no need for attribution of a fault for the proceeds of the insurance to be processed.
However, you must always look at the no-fault law in your favor. Even if it exists to cover the economic damages such as the medical bills, the vehicle damages, and all of the other costs that are easy to substantiate, you may still pay non-economic damages.
Call Your Lawyer Today
Violations of Michigan’s Distracted Driving laws form part of your permanent driving record. This may affect your insurance premiums, your infraction points, and even put you in jail if you are going to have a lot of violations in your record. It is a very serious matter that you should never take for granted.
If you have been charged with distracted driving in Michigan that you need assistance with, you should contact us today. A lawyer can help you get started with your defense. A lawyer at Haque Legal will see to it that your needs are met from beginning to the end of the proceedings. You are always in good hands with Haque Legal and what it has to offer.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out
If you are having trouble with the law relating to distracted driving, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or are seeking justice and truth, our numbers are standing by to take your call.
The post Penalties for Distracted Driving in Michigan appeared first on Haque Legal.